Friday, 1 February 2013

Scottish Fiction Podcast - 30th January 2013

May we present 'The Greatest Scottish Playlist' as chosen by us, and fine tuned by you.  Following on from our show on 23rd January as part of Scottish Fiction's 2nd birthday show, it was time to announce the 16 tracks chosen by public poll.  Once again I was joined by my panel of Raymond Weir, Bobby Motherwell and Carolynne McKendry, and our earnest judges were armed with a veto, meaning at any point they could chop one of the tracks and replace it with a track of their own choosing.  Cruel?  Yes.  Entertaining?  YES  So join us as we played out the 15 tracks you voted for in our poll, plus the public's choice track, and discuss the finer merits of each inclusion.

Orange Juice - Rip It Up
Mogwai - Batcat
Cocteau Twins - Bluebeard
Belle & Sebastian - The Boy With The Arab Strap
Camera Obscura - Lloyd, I'm Ready To Be Heartbroken

Raymond used his veto to replace Primal Scream - 'I'm Losing More Than I'll Ever Have' with...
Danny Wilson - Aberdeen

The Proclaimers - Letter From America

Bobby used his veto to replace Edwyn Collins - 'A Girl Like You' with...
The Phantom Band - Folk Song Oblivion

Frightened Rabbit - The Modern Leper
Gerry Rafferty - Night Owl
Teenage Fanclub - Sparky's Dream

PUBLIC CHOICE - Big Country - In A Big Country

John Martyn - May You Never
Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat - The Greatest Story Ever Told

Carolynne used her veto to replace The Vaselines - 'Jesus Wants Me For A Sunbeam' with...
Calvin Harris - Bounce

Idlewild - In Remote Part (Scottish Fiction)

Subscribe/listen to the podcast via iTunes.

No comments:

Post a comment