Monday, 18 June 2012

The SAY Awards - One Day To Go

Cast your mind WAY back to the 12th of April when the SAY Award Longlist was announced.  It's been a long and enjoyable road, one which has introduced us to new albums and allowed us to wax lyrical about old favourites, which has led us to this, the eve of The SAY Award Ceremony.

Chair: John Williamson (Academic)
Muslim Alim (Producer, BBC Radio Scotland); Francis Bickmore (Editorial Director, Canongate Books); Keith Bruce (Arts Editor, The Herald); Keith Cameron (MOJO); Francine Gorman (Line of Best Fit); Mary Ann Kennedy (Musician/Broadcaster); Malcolm Lindsay (Composer); Keith McIvor (Optimo); Susan Philipsz (Turner Prize Winner 2010) & Fiona Shepherd (The Scotsman)

The above names mark the eleven individual faced with the tough task of crowning the inaugural Scottish Album Of The Year 2011, however rest assured that whoever they choose, it will be on musical and artist merits alone.  My advice to them, if they haven't already made up their minds, is to go with your gut instinct.

Before the winner is announced, tomorrow evening from a ceremony in Film City Glasgow at which we have been lucky enough to be invited, here's a recap of each of the Shortlisted albums.

King Creosote & Jon Hopkins - 'Diamond Mine' 

Diamond Mine King Creosote and Jon Hopkins by music4thesoul

Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat - 'Everything's Getting Older'

The Greatest Story Ever Told by Chemikal Underground

Mungo's Hi-Fi - 'Forward Ever' 

Mungo's Hi Fi - Computer age ft Mr Williamz by mungoshifi

Twin Atlantic - 'Free' 

Rustie - 'Glass Swords'

Mogwai - 'Hardcore Will Never Die But You Will'

Mogwai - Rano Pano by subpop

Conquering Animal Sound - 'Kammerspiel'


Tommy Smith - 'Karma'

2. Land of Heroes 44.1kHz by Tommy Smith 7

Remember Remember - 'The Quickening'

Remember Remember - John Candy by theQuietus

Happy Particles - 'Under Sleeping Waves'

No comments:

Post a Comment